Center for Water and Society
Home

CWS Faculty

01


Faculty by Department
Profile
Research Areas Email
Biological Sciences
Nancy A. Auer Fish ecology, larval fish biology, aquatic ecology naauer@mtu.edu
Susan T. Bagley, emerita Environmental microbiology, bio-based fuels and bio-polymers, bioremediation, microbial control stbagley@mtu.edu
Rupali Datta Plant Biochemistry, Environmental Remediation, Plant-Microbe Interactions
rupdatta@mtu.edu
Casey J. Huckins Aquatic ecology, fish biology cjhuckin@mtu.edu
W. Charles Kerfoot
  Faculty home page
  Great Lakes Research Center
Aquatic ecology, predator-prey interactions, lake ecosystems, chemical defenses, paleoecology, limnology
wkerfoot@mtu.edu
Amy Marcarelli
  Faculty home page
biogeochemistry, streams and rivers, ecosystem ecology, energy and nutrient cycling ammarcar@mtu.edu
Chemistry
Sarah A. Green Oceanographic Institution Environmental chemistry, Great Lakes biogeochemistry, carbon cycle, radical reactions, photochemistry sgreen@mtu.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Martin T. Auer
  Faculty home page
Cladophora, Phosphorus bioavailability, Diporeia, Lake Superior lower food web, Sediment modeling
mtauer@mtu.edu
Brian D. Barkdoll
  Faculty home page
water distribution systems, scour and erosion, stream restoration, stormwater low impact development, hydraulics barkdoll@mtu.edu
Jennifer G. Becker Bioremediation of chlorinated solvents and other groundwater contaminants, bioenergy, wastewater treatment, biological treatment processes, environmental microbiology, and microbial ecology jgbecker@mtu.edu
Paul Doskey Environmental dynamics of climate-forcing gases, aerosol precursors, organic aerosols
pvdoskey@mtu.edu
Veronica Griffis
  Faculty home page
Water resources, uncertainty analysis, flood frequency and analysis of extreme events, impacts of climate and land use changes
vgriffis@mtu.edu
David W. Hand Advanced oxidation processes, adsorption processes, water reuse, drinking water treatment, pollution prevention, environmental engineering software design tools dwhand@mtu.edu
Neil J. Hutzler, emeritus Fate and transport of chemicals in soils and groundwater, risk analysis, soil vapor extraction systems, water distribution system design hutzler@mtu.edu
Alex S. Mayer Human-biophysical interactions in water systems, water resources management, watershed modeling, and groundwater flow, transport, and remediation asmayer@mtu.edu
Daisuke Minakata Water and wastewater treatment, management, and reuse, Application of computational chemistry and molecular modeling dminakat@mtu.edu
Judith A. Perlinger
  Faculty home page
Air quality, water quality
jperl@mtu.edu
Eric A. Seagren In situ bioremediation, nonaqueous phase liquid contaminants, biological treatment processes, treatment systems for urban stormwater runoff, use of recycled waste eseagren@mtu.edu
Noel R. Urban
  Faculty home page
Biogeochemistry, surface water quality, wetlands, impacts of human activities on the environment
nurban@mtu.edu
David W. Watkins
  Faculty home page
System dynamics modeling, Seasonal hydroclimate forecasting, Climate change risk assessment, Integrated water resources management, Robust decision-making
dwatkins@mtu.edu
Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences
Suzanne J. Beske-Diehl, emerita   Paleomagnetism, rock magnetism, sedimentology, geophysics
sbeske-d@mtu.edu
John S. Gierke
water supply exploration and development, water treatment, remote sensing jsgierke@mtu.edu
Jason Gulley
 
Geomorphology, glaciology, groundwater/hydrology, karst hydrology/geology jdgulley@mtu.edu
Colleen Mouw
 
Oceanography/limnology, aquatic remote sensing (oceans/lakes), aquatic biogeochemistry, phytoplankton ecology, impact of environmental change on ocean/lake systems cbmouw@mtu.edu
Alex S. Mayer   Human-biophysical interactions in water systems, water resources management, watershed modeling, and groundwater flow, transport, and remediation asmayer@mtu.edu
Essa L. Paterson hydrogeology, remotes sensing, watershed protection
elgross@mtu.edu
Wayne D. Pennington Petroleum geophysics, well logging, seismology, induced seismicity wayne@mtu.edu
William I. Rose, emeritus    Volcanology, geochemistry, remote sensing, volcano/atmosphere interactions, global change
raman@mtu.edu
Humanities
R. Craig Waddell
  Faculty home page
Examining and facilitating public participation in deliberative decision-making on such issues as environmental protection, neighborhood/community enhancement, and global poverty relief; and the relationship of the following to this end: classical rhetoric; risk communication; journalism; qualitative research methods cwaddell@mtu.edu
Michigan Tech Research Institute (MTRI)
Colin Brooks Environmental Science colin.brooks@mtu.edu
Liza (Liversedge) Jenkins Environmental Science liza.liversedge@mtu.edu
Nathaniel Jessee Environmental Science nljessee@mtu.edu
School of Business & Economics
William S. Breffle Latent-class modeling; optimal design of conjoint choice experiments; the economics of outdoor recreation; restoration of fishing and other ecological services impaired by releases of contaminants; estimating willingness to pay to avoid marginal changes in the risk of mortality from different illnesses and motor vehicle accidents wsbreffl@mtu.edu
Gary A. Campbell Mineral economics, natural resource economics and policy, sustainability and mining gacampbe@mtu.edu
Thomas Merz Applied microeconomics theory, game theory, public sector economics
temerz@mtu.edu
Daya Muralidharan, adjunct Water management and drainage in agriculture, Groundwater management, Forest use in developing economies, Groundwater quality externalities dmuralid@mtu.edu
School of Forest Resources & Environmental Science (SFRES)
Joseph K. Bump Wildlife management and ecology, ecosystem science, stable isotopes in ecology, wildlife and energy development jkbump@mtu.edu
Molly A. Cavaleri Forest canopy structure and function, forest response to global change, carbon and water cycling through forests, tree ecophysiology, stable isotope ecology, invasive tree species macavale@mtu.edu
Rodney A. Chimner Wetland ecology, ecosystem ecology, global change biology, restoration ecology rchimner@mtu.edu
David J. Flaspohler Conservation biology, ornithology, reproductive ecology of migratory songbirds, behavioral ecology, tropical ecology djflaspo@mtu.edu
Robert E. Froese Ecological modeling, growth and yield, silviculture, GIS, remote sensing, forest mensuration, biometrics, biomass froese@mtu.edu
Margaret R. Gale, emerita/adjunct Forest productivity, quantitative ecology, root ecology, wetland ecology mrgale@mtu.edu
Kathleen E. Halvorsen water policy, social dimensions of climate change, bioenergy policy
kehalvor@mtu.edu
Martin F. Jurgensen Forest soils, soil microbiology, nutrient cycling mfjurgen@mtu.edu
Evan S. Kane Soil carbon, plant/soil relationships, decomposition, dissolved organic carbon, wildfire, black carbon eskane@mtu.edu
Linda M. Nagel, adjunct Silviculture, forest vegetation dynamics, tree ecophysiology, invasive plants
lmnagel@mtu.edu
Blair D. Orr Economics, international forestry bdorr@mtu.edu
Thomas G. Pypker, adjunct Forest hydrology, micrometeorology, carbon cycling, stable isotopes, tree physiology tgpypker@mtu.edu
James M. Schmierer Sustainable management of forest resources
jmschmie@mtu.edu
Amy J. Schrank aquatic conservation and monitoring, fish communities, stream ecology, amphibian conservation ajschran@mtu.edu
Kenneth J. Vrana
  Isle Royale Institute
Science, education, and resource management on Isle Royale and Lake Superior kjvrana@mtu.edu
Joseph W. Wagenbrenner
Forest hydrology, Effects of wildfire on hydrological process, Erosion and sediment transport, Land use/disturbance hydrology, Mitigation of post-fire runoff and erosion
jwwagenb@mtu.edu
Social Sciences
Melissa F. Baird Extractive industries and heritage, cultural landscapes, critical heritage theory, indigenous anthropologies, expert knowledge, ethnographic methods, politics of archaeology mfbaird@mtu.edu
Mary Durfee World politics, international law, international management of the North American Great Lakes. I would be particularly interested in working with students who want to explore the nature of modern sovereignty through the lens of international law. mhdurfee@mtu.edu
Hugh Gorman The historical interactions between science, technology, policy, and human interactions with the environment hsgorman@mtu.edu
Kathleen E. Halvorsen water policy, social dimensions of climate change, bioenergy policy
kehalvor@mtu.edu
Nancy E. Langston Environmental history of Lake Superior, extractive industries and the north, watershed changes nelangs3@mtu.edu
Carol A. MacLennan Environmental anthropology; anthropology of industry (mining, sugar); Hawai`i and the Pacific; anthropology of public policy camac@mtu.edu
Patrick E. Martin Historical archaeology, industrial archaeology, eastern U.S. prehistory pemartin@mtu.edu
Susan R. Martin, emerita Native American technologies, industrial heritage, history of anthropology srmartin@mtu.edu
Emma S. Norman Water Governance, Political Geography, Cultural and Political Ecology esnorman@mtu.edu
Timothy Scarlett Historical and industrial archaeology, Mormons and the American intermountain West, ecobiography and landscape studies, globalization, ceramic technologies, archaeological and materials sciences scarlett@mtu.edu
Bruce E. Seely Transportation history, especially development of American highways; history of engineering and engineering education; industrial archaeology; American iron and steel industry; societal implications of nanotechnology bseely@mtu.edu
Visual & Performing Arts
Mary Ann Beckwith, emerita
  Faculty home page
watercolor, watermedia art mabeckwi@mtu.edu
Western UP Center for Science, Mathematics & Env. Education
Joan F. Schumaker Chadde
  WUP Center
K-12 Education, Teacher Professional Development, Community Outreach, Water Quality/Watershed Management, Great Lakes jchadde@mtu.edu
 

About MTCWS / Research / Education / Outreach

Michigan Tech Center for Water and Society
Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, Michigan, 49931-1295, USA

Center E-mail: mtcws@mtu.edu

bottom
MTU Arts and Human Sciences | Business | Computing | Engineering | Environmental Studies | Sciences | Technology